Borough of Munhall

Council Meeting Minutes

Tuesday, January 2, 2024

The January 2024 Reorganizational meeting of the Munhall Borough Council was called to order by the Honorable Robert Falce, Mayor, at 7:00 pm in Council Chambers.

All recited the Pledge of Allegiance

Magisterial Justice Patrick Campbell presided over the swearing in of new council members Bernard Shields and Timothy Eads.

Mayor Falce presided over the swearing in of council member John Kevin Ondo.

Present:

Absent:

Richard Brennan, Council Member Timothy Eads, Council Member Maureen Fry, Council Member Kevin Ondo, Council Vice President Bernard Shields, Council Member Richard Votedian, Council Member David Younkins, Council Member

<u>Others:</u> Seth Abrams, Borough Manager Robert Falce, Mayor

Election of the Council President

Mayor Falce called nominations for the office of Council President. Mr. Shields nominated Richard Brennan. Mr. Eads nominated David Younkins.

Roll Call Vote: Richard Brennan – Richard Brennan Timothy Eads – David Younkins Maureen Fry – Richard Brennan Kevin Ondo – Richard Brennan Bernard Shields – Richard Brennan Richard Votedian – Richard Brennan David Younkins - David Younkins

Richard Brennan is elected council president by a vote of 5-2.

Mayor Falce handed the gavel to President Brennan.

President Brennan called for nominations for the office of Vice President. Mrs. Fry nominated Kevin Ondo. Mr. Eads nominated David Younkins.

Roll Call Vote: Richard Brennan – Kevin Ondo Timothy Eads – David Younkins Maureen Fry – Kevin Ondo Kevin Ondo – Kevin Ondo Bernard Shields – Kevin Ondo Richard Votedian – Kevin Ondo David Younkins - David Younkins

Kevin Ondo is elected vice president of council by a 5-2 vote.

President Brennan called for nominations for the office of president pro-tem. Mr. Shields nominated David Younkins. Council voted 7-0 to appoint Mr. Younkins as president pro-tem.

President Brennan called for nominations for the position of Vacancy Board Chair. Mr. Brennan nominated Scott Stevens. Council voted 7-0 to appoint Scott Stevens as vacancy board chair.

Comment:

President Brennan congratulated the new councilmen on their being seated.

Mr. Shields is glad to be back after 8 years, having first served 24 years ago.

Mr. Eads is grateful to all who voted for him and promised additional transparency.

Mr. Ondo thanked everyone and hopes to do more in his second term.

<u>Adjournment:</u> Mr. Younkins made a motion to adjourn at 7:12 pm. Mr. Ondo seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Seth Abrams Borough Manager